Nominations open for Northern Region reps on National Policy Group

GrainGrowers is seeking nominations from grain farmer members in the Northern Region (north of Dubbo, New South Wales, and Queensland) for the National Policy Group (NPG).

GrainGrowers’ CEO David McKeon said that the NPG, was established under the organisation’s constitution, to help drive national industry policy.

“NPG reflects the views of grassroots grain farmers across the grains belt. The group helps ensure a strong grower voice into important national policy issues such as grains R&D, freight, international trade and telecommunications. Through the NPG, grain farmers have direct engagement and input on national issues that affect their farming businesses and regions,” said Mr McKeon.

“GrainGrowers’ NPG is made up of 15 farmers – five from each of the three major grain growing regions in Australia – Northern Region (northern NSW and Qld), Southern Region (NSW, Vic and Tas) and Western Region (SA and WA),” he said.

“Each year an election is held in a region for up to five positions on the NPG. This year, GrainGrowers is calling for nominations for the five Northern Region positions.

“To qualify candidates must be:

  • a member of GrainGrowers
  • in the business of grain production in the Northern Region (northern NSW and/or Qld).

“The nominees will be highly motivated to play their part in developing a more efficient, profitable and sustainable grains industry, representing the growers in their region but having input into the formation of national policy on issues affecting the production sector across the whole industry,” he said.

Other desirable skill-sets include:

  1.     Experience in representing the interests of farmers and working constructively to bring about change
  2.     Knowledge of policy priorities for the production sector of the grains industry
  3.     Experience in networking and engagement with other grain farmers.
  4.     Skills and experience of a practical nature in grain production.

Nominations are now open and will close at 5 pm (ADST) on 11 November 2018.

For more information: https://www.graingrowers.com.au/policy/national-policy-group/