Skip to content

GrainGrowers' members in the Western Region have elected their five National Policy Group (NPG) representatives, returning three previous members – Judith Foss (Bruce Rock WA), Tracy Lefroy (Moora WA), and Damian Sommerville (Burra SA) – and electing two new representatives - Renee Lynch (Narembeen WA) and Tom Michael (Barunga Gap SA).

The NPG determines GrainGrowers' policy positions and represents farmers' views on national issues affecting the grains sector. It is made up of 15 representatives: five from each of the GrainGrowers regions – the Western Region (SA and WA), the Southern Region (southern NSW, VIC and TAS) and the Northern Region (northern NSW & QLD).

GrainGrowers Chair Rhys Turton congratulated the incoming members and said he looked forward to seeing them progress policy issues impacting the Australian grains industry.

"As a grower representative body, we are fortunate to have highly experienced and capable members putting themselves forward to help advance the industry. I am confident the newly elected members will represent the Western region in a very effective manner across a wide range of policy areas considered by our organisation."

"I would like to thank all those candidates who ran and our members for participating in the election process.”

The first meeting for the GrainGrowers National Policy Group, including the newly elected Western Region representatives, will be held in early 2024.

Additional information on the newly elected members and for the NPG is available on the GrainGrowers website.