Growers urged to vote for Western Region representatives in NPG election

By November 27, 2017April 6th, 2018Media Releases - November 2017

GrainGrowers’ members in South Australia and Western Australia are urged to vote for candidates standing for election to represent the Western Region on GrainGrowers’ National Policy Group (NPG). Voting is now open and closes on Thursday 14 December at 5 pm Australian Western Standard Time (AWST) .

The Western Region nominations are: Tristan Baldock, Buckleboo, South Australia; Kallum Blake, Katanning, Western Australia; Michael Hunt, Bordertown, South Australia; Jasmyn Allen, Yuna, Western Australia, Paul Kelly, Mingenew, Western Australia; and Frank O’Hare, Cunderdin, Western Australia.

GrainGrowers CEO David McKeon said that grower representatives making up the NPG were a vital part of policy formation at GrainGrowers.

“NPG is responsible for determining GrainGrowers’ policy agenda. Grower representatives bring forward the major issues affecting grain farming businesses in their regions and meet multiple times per year in person and via teleconference to help develop constructive national policy solutions,” said Mr McKeon.

“The NPG provides the views of grassroots farmers and helps drive forward national industry and government policy. Their discussions ground-truth and inform the work of GrainGrowers’ policy staff in taking issues to government and industry,” Mr McKeon said.

“The nominations this year are growers with impressive grain industry knowledge and backgrounds and show themselves to be highly motivated to play their part in developing a more efficient, profitable and sustainable grains industry.”

The NPG is made up of 15 farmers – five from each of GrainGrowers’ regions – Western Region (SA and WA), Southern Region (Southern NSW, Vic and Tas) and the Northern Region (northern NSW, Qld and NT).

Each year an election is held in a region for up to five positions on the NPG. This year, GrainGrowers has fielded nominations for the Western Region positions. A vote will be conducted by independent consultant, LINK Market Services. Only Western Region members (farmers in South Australia and Western Australia) are entitled to vote.

For more information about the election and the NPG, growers should contact their GrainGrowers’ Regional Coordinator:

Alan Meldrum – Regional Coordinator (WA)
T: 0427 384 760
E: alan.meldrum@graingrowers.com.au

David Evans – Regional Coordinator (SA)
T: 0437 176 280
E: david.evans@graingrowers.com.au

Or visit: https://www.graingrowers.com.au/policy/2017-western-region-policy-group-elections


Chris Walker
T: 0408 014 843
E: chris.walker@graingrowers.com.au