GrainGrowers encourages members to vote

National grain farmer representative organisation, GrainGrowers, is encouraging members across Australia to have their say and cast their vote ahead of the election for two Directors from the Northern Region this month.

Three candidates from the Northern Region (northern NSW and Queensland) have nominated for the two available Board positions.These candidates are:

  • Peter Thompson, Wallumbilla, QLD
  • Andrew Carberry, Narrabri, NSW
  • Christopher Joseph, Highfields, QLD.

The Directors elected at this AGM will hold office for the period until the AGM in 2021 (unless their position becomes otherwise vacant pursuant to the GrainGrowers’ Constitution).

The AGM will also see retirement of GrainGrowers current Chairman, Mr John Eastburn. Mr Eastburn, a Director of the company from the Northern Region, was appointed in 2006, and retires by rotation in accordance with the Constitution. He is not eligible for re-election having served four terms as a Director and the Chairman of the Board.

Mr Andrew Carberry, a Director of the Company from the Northern Region, was appointed in 2009. He retires by rotation in accordance with the Constitution, and being eligible, offers himself for re-election.

All GrainGrowers’ members are eligible to vote in the election, the results of which will be known at the Thursday 18 October Annual General Meeting to be held in Dubbo, New South Wales. A notice of meeting – including candidates’ profiles and how to vote details – has been posted/emailed to members. Members are able to vote by mail or online by the deadline of 10.30 am AEST, Tuesday 16 October, or in person or by proxy at the Annual General Meeting.

The results of the Directors election will be known on Thursday 18 October at the AGM. GrainGrowers welcomes members to attend in person at the meeting, which will be held from 10.30 am (AEDT) in the Auditorium of the Dubbo RSL, corner of Brisbane and Wingewarra Streets, Dubbo, NSW.

More information click here.