GrainGrowers’ Board



Brett Hosking is a fifth-generation farmer running a mixed farming business in Quambatook, Victoria. Brett, his wife Jane and their four daughters grow wheat, barley, canola, lentils and field peas as well as run sheep and cattle. Brett is a grower director, the current Chairman of GrainGrowers and has had long-standing involvement across the Australian grains industry. This has included Victorian Farmers’ Federation (VFF) Grains Group President and Vice-President. Brett has a passion for agriculture and for ensuring farmers and the regional communities where they operate are strongly represented and their voices heard.



A grain grower at Mallala, SA, Richard produces a wide variety of cereals, pulses and oilseeds. Richard served for six years on the Advisory Board of Agriculture, and seven years on the GRDC’s Southern Panel which included the Plant Biosecurity Cooperative Research Centre, Grains Advisory Panel. He was also a non-executive director and Chair of the Australian Grain Growers Co-op board and has served on the Rural Business Support Board since 2019.
Richard has experience in corporate governance, strategic and business planning, financial management and planning, implementation and project planning and oversight and graduated from the Australian Institute of Company Directors in 2015.



Julia Hausler runs a mixed farming operation in the Wimmera region of Victoria and is a grower director of GrainGrowers. With over 20 years’ experience in agriculture including expertise in marketing, accumulation, education, financing and rural policy, Julia’s contribution to industry has been acknowledged with her inclusion in the inaugural 100 Women in Australian Agribusiness Awards. Julia is the Chair of the Rural NorthWest Health Board and is also a member of the Birchip Cropping Group. Julia was selected to take part in the Australian Rural Leadership Program in 2012-2013. Julia was also previously part of the GrainGrowers’ National Policy Group.



Rhys Turton is a grain grower from York, Western Australia where he grows a range of crops including cereals, pulses, canola and hay. Rhys is a grower director of GrainGrowers. Rhys has worked in agricultural organisations both in Australia and internationally, giving him a thorough understanding of international trade and market access. Rhys is President of the Western Australian Farmers Federation and Chairman of the Council of Grain Grower Organisations. Rhys also served as a Councillor on the Co-Operative Federation of Western Australia for several years.



Andrew Carberry runs a cropping, irrigation and livestock enterprise in Narrabri, New South Wales and is a grower director of GrainGrowers. Passionate about grower representation, Andrew has sat on the National Farmers’ Federation Members Council and several National Farmers’ Federation committees. Andrew was also previously part of the GrainGrowers’ National Policy Group.


Non-Grower Director

Mark Allison has extensive agribusiness sector experience, is currently the Managing Director and CEO of Elders Limited and is a non-grower director of GrainGrowers. Mark’s extensive business experience includes times as CEO of GrainGrowers, Jeminex Limited, Farmoz Pty Ltd and Wesfarmers Landmark Limited. Mark is the Chairman of Agribusiness Australia and has served on the board of APVMA, CropLife and AgSafe.



Nigel is a fourth-generation farmer from Goondiwindi QLD with over 20 years’ of farming and business management experience. Nigel is the Managing Director of New Leaf Ag Pty Ltd, a family owned food and fibre company. Nigel holds a Bachelor of Applied Science Agronomy from the University of Queensland. Nigel’s work across agriculture has been recognised as Australian Cotton Grower of the Year and ABC Rural Australian Young Farmer of the Year. Nigel also received a Nuffield Scholarship. Nigel currently sits on the board of Cotton Seed Distributors.


Non-Grower Director

Fiona has long-standing connections to regional communities, having served twelve years in Federal Parliament as a NSW Senator. Fiona’s ministerial positions included Rural Health and cabinet positions across Regional Development and Regional Communications. Fiona has also been actively involved in farming enterprises in the NSW central west where her two sons continue to operate.
Fiona is currently leading some work with Charles Sturt University on regional and community engagement. Fiona is very passionate about improving outcomes for Australian farmers and regional communities.