GrainGrowers’ members across Australia are encouraged to cast their vote in the upcoming election of Western Region Board Directors for the national grain farmer representative organisation. The GrainGrowers Board consists of two grower Directors from each grain growing region – Northern (Queensland and northern NSW to Dubbo), Southern (south of Dubbo, Victoria and Tasmania) and Western (South Australia and Western Australia) and two non-grower directors.

This year, members have the opportunity to vote for the election of Western Region Board Directors, with final results decided at the organisation’s Annual General Meeting in Perth, WA on 5 October 2017.

Three candidates have nominated for the two available positions on the GrainGrowers Board: Mr Rodney Birch, Mr Michael Hunt and Mr Rhys Turton.

Mr Trevor De Landgrafft has announced his retirement from the Board effective from the upcoming AGM.

GrainGrowers Chair John Eastburn said, in line with Constitutional requirements, the Board had endorsed two candidates for election: Rod Birch and Rhys Turton.

“The Board recommends members vote in favour of Mr Birch and Mr Turton based on a skills-assessment of each candidate, carried out by an independent consultant.”

Mr Eastburn said the desired skills for Directors included a strong understanding of governance, an ability to think strategically and a demonstrated ability to work collegiately and collaboratively.

“Our Directors set the strategic direction of the organisation and need to ensure we continue to deliver value for the grain production sector,” he said.

Mr Eastburn said GrainGrowers strongly encouraged members to consider the candidates and cast a direct vote in favour of their two preferred candidates in preference to exercising any proxies held.

All GrainGrowers members, some 17,500 grain farmers from across Australia, are eligible to vote in the election for Western Region Board Directors.

Members can vote online, by post, by fax or in person at the Annual General Meeting.

For more information regarding voting, please contact LINK Market Services on 1300 880 732. To view the Notice of Meeting and to vote online via the link to LINK Market Services visit

Grain Growers Limited’s AGM will be held at 1 pm, Thursday, 5 October 2017 at Crown Towers Burswood (Perth), WA.


Chris Walker

P 0408 014 843

E This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.