Our Journey

1958 marked the precursor of what was later known as the Prime Wheat Association. A passionate group of grain producers gathered in Narrabri, in North West NSW to ensure producers got paid more for high protein wheat. Following a number of mergers and acquisitions within the grain industry, GrainGrowers as we know it today was formed in 2011. GrainGrowers continues today with a dynamic blend of commercial and industry good functions, packing the industry with fruitful activities that benefit all Australian grain producers.

In 2016, GrainGrowers continues to flourish, acting as the undercurrent to the Australian grain industry’s success. As a driver of change, GrainGrowers is quick to respond to the needs of producers and developments in the industry. Adding all these factors together, it becomes clear why GrainGrowers is now Australia’s largest grain industry organisation representing producers and giving them the support they rightfully deserve. 

Grain Growers Limited Timeline


Premium Wheatgrowers Association formed in Narrabri NSW. 


Prime Hard wheats and Northern FAQ grades gain acceptance in international wheat markets. 


Premium Wheatgrowers Association changes its name to Prime Wheat Association after negative feedback from international customers. 


Prime Wheat Association merges with the Hard and Soft Wheatgrowers Association. 


Prime Wheat Association purchases the assets of the NSW Government owned Grain Handling Authority, later renamed GrainCorp.


Prime Wheat Association and Victorian Grain Services merge to form Grain Growers Association (GGA) as part of GrainCorp’s merger with Victorian grain handler Vicgrain.  


GGA releases the Accenture Grains Industry Review, sparking a national debate about Australia’s grain export arrangements. 


GGA accepts 2500 Queensland members as part of a merger between GrainCorp and Queensland bulk handler GrainCo. GGA invests in independent farm information service Kondinin Group to ensure the Group’s financial viability.  


Members embrace a package of constitutional reforms and enshrine Regional Committees in the GGA Constitution.  


Over 3000 members are involved in the development of the Blueprint for the Future of GGA – the Association’s strategic plan. Regional Committee members are elected to provide a strong grass roots focus to the future direction of GGA and to assist with information flow between members, GGA staff and the Board.  


During 2008 GGA focused on drought and its effects, industry services and the required platforms to supply them and grains infrastructure, particularly rail capability. Building the capacity of our future leaders continued as a priority with the launch of the Innovation Generation Conference and Australian Future Grain Leaders Program. GGA purchased BRI Australia (former Bread Research Institute). 


GGA celebrated 50 years of service to the Australian grains industry. The anniversary provided an opportunity to acknowledge the history of our organisation as well as look to a bright future for not only GGA but for the grains industry as a whole. GGA Purchased Agrecon. 


GGA changed its name to Grain Growers Limited (GrainGrowers) with the introduction of a new logo and company direction. 


Dissolved all shareholding in GrainCorp and the Kondinin Group. BRI Australia and Agrecon merge with GrainGrowers to create a unified organisation. A new Strategic Plan is put in place to allow the company to realise its vision going forward.


GGL joined NFF as a grains commodity member and became a foundation member of the Grains Policy Council. Our National Policy Group was established this year. 


We launched PropertyWise, an independent productive potential assessment on land. GGL also launched the game changing on-farm NIR product, GrainVantage.


GGL became an executive member of ASA100.

At the September Annual General Meeting members voted to include the National Policy Group in the GGL Constitution. 
GGL transfered the organisation's Technical and Analytical Services division (formerly BRI) to the Australian Export Grains Innovation Centre.